Panasonic Leica Summilux 25mm F1.4


_1230042

From Left hand, Panasonic 35-100mmF2.8, OLYMPUS E-M10+Leica 25mm F1.4, Leica 15mm F1.7, OLYMPUS 45mm F1.8 and Panasonic 12-35mm F2.8

It has been for a while since last update.

While I was in Japan, I totally update my camera system.
Last year, I purchased Panasonic 12-35mm and 35-100mm zoom lenses which are considered as top grade lenses.

In fact, they does great job… but at the same time, those are really “normal”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS E-M10+Leica 25mm F1.4

When I looked back my old photos with Leica Digilux 3, I realized how good they are although they are not as sharp as modern lenses.

So, that is the reason that I started thinking about Panasonic-Leica lenses.

25mm is the standard lens which is equivalent to 50mm on full-size.

At first, I bought 15mm and 45mm which are equivalent to 30mm and 90mm. Although I thought those  were enough… but soon I started wanting 25mm due to my past experience.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS E-M10+ Leica 25mm F1.4

Old days, people first bought 50mm standard lens with SLR and took everything with it. I experienced it and then, I got 28mm and 100mm.

So, I found that my body still remember the old school…
Since I gave up film in 2005, I never had chance to use single lenses and I thought zoom lenses were good enough. But, now I found it is not as hard as I was thinking and I just enjoy those simple lenses.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS E-M10+Leica 25mm F1.4

Another reason that I can enjoy single lenses is because it is Micro Four-Thirds system.
Swapping lenses outside has been a quite risky thing for digital SLRs.
Today, most of cameras have anti-dust system with them… but not many are so good and still it is better not to swap lenses outside.

But Micro Four-Thirds system always have the best anti-dust system and that is why we can swap lenses so easily.
Also they produce lots of attractive lenses from OLYMPUS, Panasonic and other third-parties.

p5309043

To enjoy single lenses, Micro Four-Thirds systems are strongly recommended.

If you think of buying Leica lens from Germany, they will costs you several thousands dollars each… but Panasonic-Leica 25mm is only $500!

Another good news is… due to the cheap Yen, those are not as expensive as how they used to be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

