Trip to the USA4 Red Bluff to San Francisco


Red Bluff to San Francisco

It is the 5th day and it is the day to get to the first destination, San Francisco!

It is just hot around Red Bluff… all I had to do was… just keep riding. After I passed Red Bluff, it seems like there is more farming land there.

But dry is dry… 150 years ago, people crossed the continent to get to the dream land and this was what they saw!

Route505

When I turned into I505 from I5, there was much less traffic and still I was in middle of hot dry desert… But this is the typical landscape of California I know.

I was keep riding straight boring road, then I marged into I80. The road was much wider and it showed me I was getting close.

As I ran, colder and windier it got. That reminds me the weather of Bay area.
It was so windy, but there was no space to park my bike anywhere. So, all I could do was just go…

Now I see more buildings and signs are showing more familiar names…at least I was getting close.

Then, what I saw was a heavy traffic jam. It was the worst I experienced in this trip at that time.

Bay Bridge-San Francisco

Simply that was coursed the tall gate to get in to San Francisco. They were still depending on men power there. It was $5 for normal cars.

After that, at least traffic started moving. But it was still had to go on the windy cold Bay Bridge with horribly rough road surface.

The view from Bay Bridge was amazing… but it was the only photo I could take while I was riding my bike.

Then, I finally arrived to San Francisco… it  was my 5th day. But first thing I noticed was it was very hard to drive in Downtown San Francisco.

There is no left turn anywhere, too many one ways or rough road surface and train tracks on road which is extremely dangerous for motorcycle.

Golden Gate Bridge from Baker Beach

But at the same time, it makes easy to move around.

Castro San Franicsco

For example, this was the first time to be here for many years although I sometimes come to San Francisco.

Without vehicle, I did not feel like coming this far…

Thanks for the motorcycle, San Francisco always makes me tiring by the steep hills, but not this time. At the same time, I did not walk too much this time and that means I did not take that many photos…

fishermans wharf

When you are in San Francisco, it is still the place to stop by.

I know this is touristy and this is not cheap anymore…

crab-fishermans wharf

But I still think the crabs they serve are quite good. Even if you go to Chinatown, still the live crabs are costing over $20… so price here is not too bad…

Leave a Reply

